Each state maintains its own adoption policies, so the process can vary considerably for families in different states. As an Idaho resident, you'll want to work with an adoption agency or adoption attorney who is very familiar with Idaho adoption laws and policies. Below, you'll find adoption agencies and adoption lawyers offering services to Idaho families. Scroll past the listings to learn all about the legal guidelines for families adopting in Idaho whether you’re adopting a newborn through domestic adoption, an infant or older child from U.S. foster care adoption, or a child through international adoption.
IDAHO ADOPTION LAWS & STATUTES
WHO CAN ADOPT IN IDAHO?
Any resident of Idaho may adopt, as long as the adopting parent is 25 years or older or at least 15 years older than the child (unless the adopting parent is married to the biological parent of the child). Married couples must receive consent from his/her spouse.
Can LGBT families adopt? Yes, same-sex couples can petition for joint adoption.
IDAHO DOMESTIC ADOPTION LAWS
Can adoptive parents advertise for birth parents? No.
Can out-of-state residents finalize an adoption? No.
Can adopting parents use an adoption facilitator or another paid intermediary? Not addressed in state statutes.
What birth parent expenses may be paid, and in what time period? Medical, legal, counseling. Living and lost wages: up to $500 without court approval, up to $2000 with approval. No time limit, but total must not exceed $2000. Can petition to over $2000 limit. Birth mother who revokes consent may be required to reimburse adoptive parents.
Is there a putative father registry? Yes.
When can consent to adoption be granted? After birth, in front of judge.
When does consent become irrevocable? If consent is revoked, is return to birth parent automatic? After signing.
Are post-adoption contact agreements legally enforceable? Not addressed in state statutes.
IDAHO INTERNATIONAL ADOPTION LAWS
Is a foreign adoption decree automatically recognized by the state? Yes, as long as the foreign adoption decree is valid, and the U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security allows the child to enter the U.S.
Can parents readopt in this state? Is it mandatory? Yes, adoptive parents may petition to readopt in an Idaho court if the adoption decree was issued under due process of law and the U.S. Government recognizes the adoption. Adopting parents must provide the court with a copy of the adoption decree and proof that the U.S. Government recognizes the adoption. Readoption is mandatory.
When will a U.S. birth certificate be issued? The State Registrar will issue a U.S. birth certificate upon receipt of a copy of the adoption decree with the probable place and date of birth of the child, along with a request from the adopting parents or the adopted person for the birth certificate.
ADOPTION FROM FOSTER CARE IN IDAHO
Are adoption subsidies available? When do they start and how long do they last? Yes, subsidies are available for a special needs child, who is defined as having at least one of the following: member of a sibling group that is being placed together, has or is at high risk of developing a physical, mental, emotional, or medical condition, is of an age that makes placement challenging. In addition, the child must be in the custody of the Idaho Dept. of Health and Welfare. Subsidies generally begin at adoption finalization, but out-of-state adoptions may qualify for subsidies beginning at adoption placement.
Where can I learn more about the process of adopting a child from foster care in Idaho? http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Children/AdoptionFosterCareHome
IDAHO ADOPTION UNIT
Program Manager: Stephanie MillerIdaho Department of Health and Welfare
450 West State Street, 5th Floor
Boise, Idaho 83702
Phone: (208) 334-5697
Fax: (208) 332-7330 [email protected] http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Children/AdoptionFosterCareHome/tabid/75/Default.aspx
DISCLAIMER: The state laws and policies outlined above are offered to readers only for general information and do not constitute legal advice. Furthermore, the state laws were accurate at the time of compilation, but Adoptive Families cannot guarantee that there have been no subsequent changes or revisions to the laws. Please do not rely on the information above without first consulting an adoption attorney licensed in your state. Updated in November 2014.
You are viewing this exclusive AF content as a guest. To access our full Adoption Parenting Library — plus digital issues, eBooks, expert audio and more — join Adoptive Families today.