Each state maintains its own adoption policies, so the process can vary considerably for families in different states. As a Connecticut resident, you'll want to work with an adoption agency or adoption attorney who is very familiar with Connecticut adoption laws and policies. Below, you'll find adoption agencies and adoption lawyers offering services to Connecticut families. Scroll past the listings to learn all about the legal guidelines for families adopting in Connecticut, whether you’re adopting a newborn through domestic adoption, an infant or older child from U.S. foster care adoption, or a child through international adoption.
CONNECTICUT ADOPTION LAWS & STATUTES
Who Can Adopt in Connecticut?
Any adult may adopt, but the sexual orientation may be considered when placing a child as the state is not required to place a child with a homosexual or bisexual individual, and a married couple must adopt jointly unless an exception is made by the court.
Can LGBT families adopt? Yes, same-sex couples can petition for joint adoption.
Connecticut Domestic Adoption Laws
Can adoptive parents advertise for birth parents? Yes.
Can out-of-state residents finalize an adoption? No.
Can adopting parents use an adoption facilitator or another paid intermediary? Not addressed in state statutes.
What birth parent expenses may be paid, and in what time period? Medical and legal, with court approval. Counseling. Max. $1500 living expenses, including telephone, clothing.
Is there a putative father registry? No.
When can consent to adoption be granted? 48 hours after birth.
When does consent become irrevocable? If consent is revoked, is return to birth parent automatic? After finalization, which typically occurs within 30 days of filing consent. Return automatic.
Are post-adoption contact agreements legally enforceable? Yes.
Connecticut International Adoption Laws
Is a foreign adoption decree automatically recognized by the state? Not addressed in state statutes.
Can parents readopt in this state? Is it mandatory? Yes. A petition for readoption can be filed with the probate court in the petitioner’s county of residence. It must be accompanied by an authenticated copy of the adoption decree unless the court waives this requirement. It is not mandatory.
When will a U.S. birth certificate be issued? The Department of Public Health will issue a certificate of birth registration or a certificate of foreign birth for a child born outside the United States who is adopted by a state resident upon receipt of notification that the probate court has a copy of an adoption order and a written request from the adopted person (if 16 years or older), adopting parents, or the probate court conducting the adoption proceedings.
Adoption From Foster Care in Connecticut
Are adoption subsidies available? When do they start and how long do they last? Yes, adoption subsidies are available for a special needs child as defined by one of the following: 8 years or older, 2 years or older if minority, member of a sibling group of 2 or more children being placed together, has a diagnosis of a physical, mental, or emotional condition, or is at high risk for developing such condition.
Where can I learn more about the process of adopting a child from foster care in Connecticut? http://www.ctfosteradopt.com/fosteradopt/cwp/view.asp?a=3795&Q=498606
Access to Adoption Records in Connecticut
Who may access non-identifying information? Adoptive parents and birth parents.
Who may access identifying information? Any authorized applicant may apply for access.
Can adoptees obtain their original birth certificates? Yes, but only by order of the court.
Connecticut Licensing Office Contact
Tom Cuchara (CT)
Regulatory Consultant- DCF
Connecticut Adoption Unit
Program Manager: Sarah GibsonConnecticut Department of Children and Families
505 Hudson Street
Hartford, Connecticut 06106
Phone: (860) 550-6536 [email protected] http://www.ctfosteradopt.com/fosteradopt/site/default.asp
DISCLAIMER: The state laws and policies outlined above are offered to readers only for general information and do not constitute legal advice. Furthermore, the state laws were accurate at the time of compilation, but Adoptive Families cannot guarantee that there have been no subsequent changes or revisions to the laws. Please do not rely on the information above without first consulting an adoption attorney licensed in your state. Updated in November 2014.
You are viewing this exclusive AF content as a guest. To access our full Adoption Parenting Library — plus digital issues, eBooks, expert audio and more — join Adoptive Families today.