Each state maintains its own adoption policies, so the process can vary considerably for families in different states. As a Nevada resident, you'll want to work with an adoption agency or adoption attorney who is very familiar with Nevada adoption laws and policies. Below, learn all about the legal guidelines for families adopting in Nevada whether you’re adopting a newborn through domestic adoption, an infant or older child from U.S. foster care adoption, or a child through international adoption.
You’ll also find links to adoption agencies and adoption lawyers offering services to Nevada families.
NEVADA ADOPTION LAWS & STATUTES
Who Can Adopt in Nevada?
Any adult who is at least ten years older than the child if adopting a minor may adopt. If the adoptee is an adult, any adult who is older than the adoptee may adopt.
Domestic Adoption Laws in Nevada
Can adoptive parents advertise for birth parents? No.
Can out-of-state residents finalize an adoption? Yes.
Can adopting parents use an adoption facilitator or another paid intermediary? Yes, but only a licensed individual may act as an adoption facilitator.
What birth parent expenses may be paid, and in what time period? Medical, legal, counseling, necessary living.
Is there a putative father registry? No.
When can consent to adoption be granted? 72 hours after birth.
When does consent become irrevocable? If consent is revoked, is return to birth parent automatic? After signing.
Are post-adoption contact agreements legally enforceable? Both parties (the adopting parents and the birth parents) may petition to the court, but contact must begin at most 120 days after the agreement was reached.
International Adoption Laws in Nevada
Is a foreign adoption decree automatically recognized by the state? Not addressed in state statutes.
Can parents readopt in this state? Is it mandatory? Not addressed in state statutes.
When will a U.S. birth certificate be issued? The State Registrar will issue a supplementary birth certificate upon receipt of a copy of the adoption decree and proof that the child is a U.S. citizen. The adopting parents must reside in Nevada.
Adoption from Foster Care in Nevada
Are adoption subsidies available? When do they start and how long do they last? Yes, subsidies are available for a special needs child, who is defined as having at least one of the following: 5 years or older, is of a minority race, member of a sibling group of 2 or more children (if one sibling is at least 3) being placed together, has or is at risk of developing a medical, physical, emotional, or mental condition. In addition, the child must be in the custody of the state or a Nevada-licensed child-placing agency. Subsidies begin at adoption finalization.
Where can I learn more about the process of adopting a child from foster care in Nevada? http://www.dcfs.state.nv.us/DCFS_Adoption.htm
Nevada Open Records Statutes
Is there an adoption registry? Yes, Nevada's Division of Child and Family Services offers Nevada Adoption Registry Services.
Who may access information about an adoption? Adoptees age 18 or older, birth parents, and persons related within the third degree to the adoptee may register for the exchange of identifying information. Adoptive parents medical records and medical and sociological history of the child and the birth parents, excluding any identifying information.
Who may apply for an adoptee's original birth certificate (OBC)? The OBC is available only with a court order.
Nevada Adoption Unit
Program Manager: Ashley HiceNevada Department of Human Resources
4126 Technology Way
Carson City, Nevada 89706
Phone: (775) 684-4454
Fax: (775) 684-4456
[email protected] http://dcfs.nv.gov/Programs/CWS/Adoption/
DISCLAIMER: The state laws and policies outlined above are offered to readers only for general information and do not constitute legal advice. Furthermore, the state laws were accurate at the time of compilation, but Adoptive Families cannot guarantee that there have been no subsequent changes or revisions to the laws. Please do not rely on the information above without first consulting an adoption attorney licensed in your state. Updated in January 2017.
You are viewing this exclusive AF content as a guest. To access our full Adoption Parenting Library — plus digital issues, eBooks, expert audio and more — join Adoptive Families today.