Each state maintains its own adoption policies, so the process can vary considerably for families in different states. As a Michigan resident, you'll want to work with an adoption agency or adoption attorney who is very familiar with Michigan adoption laws and policies. Below, learn all about the legal guidelines for families adopting in Michigan whether you’re adopting a newborn through domestic adoption, an infant or older child from U.S. foster care adoption, or a child through international adoption.
You'll also find a link to adoption agencies and adoption lawyers offering services to Michigan families.
MICHIGAN ADOPTION LAWS & STATUTES
Who Can Adopt in Michigan?
Any individual or a married couple jointly.
Can LGBT families adopt? Same-sex couples may face legal restrictions when petitioning for joint adoption.
Michigan Domestic Adoption Laws
Can adoptive parents advertise for birth parents? Yes.
Can out-of-state residents finalize an adoption? Yes.
Can adopting parents use an adoption facilitator or another paid intermediary? Yes, a child-placing agency or an adoption attorney may assist in the placement of a child.
What birth parent expenses may be paid, and in what time period? Medical not covered by insurance or Medicaid, legal, counseling, reasonable and necessary living. 6 weeks post-partum. No caps or preauthorization.
Is there a putative father registry? No.
When can consent to adoption be granted? Any time after birth, but it must be given during a court hearing, which must be scheduled.
When does consent become irrevocable? If consent is revoked, is return to birth parent automatic? Consents are not "revoked." Parents have time to ask for reconsideration, but it is rarely granted and "a change of mind" is insufficient. If it is granted, return usually automatic.
Are post-adoption contact agreements legally enforceable? Not addressed in state statutes.
Michigan International Adoption Laws
Is a foreign adoption decree automatically recognized by the state? Yes if the decree is by a court following due process of law.
Can parents readopt in this state? Is it mandatory? Not addressed in state statutes.
When will a U.S. birth certificate be issued? The probate court will file for a birth registration after receiving a request from the adoption parents and proof of the DOB and place of birth of the child.
Adoption from Foster Care in Michigan
Are adoption subsidies available? When do they start and how long do they last? Yes, adoption subsidies are available for a special needs child as defined by one of the following: 3 years or older, but under 18 years, member of a minority or ethnic group, member of a sibling group of 2 or more children being placed together, has a physical, mental, emotional, or medical condition, is being adopted by a relative. The family background of the child and the adoption waiting time of the child may also be considered. In addition, the child must be in the custody of the Michigan court. Starts upon adoption placement.
Where can I learn more about the process of adopting a child from foster care in Michigan? http://www.michigan.gov/dhs/0,4562,7-124-60126_7116---,00.html
Michigan Adoption Unit
Program Manager: Catherine HooverMichigan Department of Human Services
235 S. Grand Avenue
PO Box 30037, Suite 514
Lansing, Michigan 48909
Phone: (517) 335-7789 [email protected] http://www.michigan.gov/dhs/0,1607,7-124-5452_7116---,00.html
DISCLAIMER: The state laws and policies outlined above are offered to readers only for general information and do not constitute legal advice. Furthermore, the state laws were accurate at the time of compilation, but Adoptive Families cannot guarantee that there have been no subsequent changes or revisions to the laws. Please do not rely on the information above without first consulting an adoption attorney licensed in your state. Updated in November 2014.
You are viewing this exclusive AF content as a guest. To access our full Adoption Parenting Library — plus digital issues, eBooks, expert audio and more — join Adoptive Families today.