Oregon Adoption Laws and Policies

You have many adoption options, and this is the perfect place to begin exploring them. Below, you’ll find Oregon adoption laws and policies and find adoption agencies and attorneys who work with families in Oregon.

Crater Lake in Oregon, where Oregon adoption laws apply

Each state maintains its own adoption policies, so the process can vary considerably for families in different states. As an Oregon resident, you’ll want to work with an adoption agency or adoption attorney who is very familiar with Oregon adoption laws and policies. Below, you’ll find adoption agencies and adoption lawyers offering services to Oregon families. Scroll past the listings to learn all about the legal guidelines for families adopting in Oregon whether you’re adopting a newborn through domestic adoption, an infant or older child from U.S. foster care adoption, or a child through international adoption.

OREGON ADOPTION LAWS & STATUTES

Who Can Adopt in Oregon?

Any person may adopt if at least one of the adopting parents or a consenting birth parent has lived in Oregon for 6 months before filing for adoption.

Can LGBT families adopt? Yes, same-sex couples can petition for joint adoption.

Oregon Domestic Adoption Laws

Can adoptive parents advertise for birth parents? Yes, but only after adoptive parents complete a pre-placement homestudy.

Can out-of-state residents finalize an adoption? Yes, if birth mother is resident.

Can adopting parents use an adoption facilitator or another paid intermediary? Yes, but only Oregon licensed adoption agencies may be used, and payment for services is illegal.

What birth parent expenses may be paid, and in what time period? Medical, legal (with time records upon court request), counseling (typically $1,000, up to $4,000 if payments made through attorney). Reasonable living expenses (rent, utilities, phone) during pregnancy due to job loss or need. About $100/week in food and misc.; public transportation or gas for medical appointments. $200-$500 in maternity clothes. Direct payments required whenever possible. Birth parent counseling for up to one year postpartum. Living expenses usually approved for up to 4 mos. Financial disclosure affidavit to court required.

Is there a putative father registry? Yes.

When can consent to adoption be granted? Birth mother: any time after birth; birth father: any time.

 When does consent become irrevocable? If consent is revoked, is return to birth parent automatic? Agency adoption: after child is placed; independent adoption: after state requirements are met, usually within a few days of placement.

Are post-adoption contact agreements legally enforceable? Yes, but only if the court finds that the enforcing party attempted to mediate the dispute before coming to the court.

Oregon International Adoption Laws

Is a foreign adoption decree automatically recognized by the state? Yes, as long as the adoption occurred under the laws of the country in which the child was adopted and at least one of the adopting parents is a U.S. citizen.

Can parents readopt in this state? Is it mandatory? Not necessary.

When will a U.S. birth certificate be issued? The State Registrar will issue a U.S. birth certificate of a child adopted in an Oregon court upon receipt of the court’s adoption decree, proof of date and place of birth of the child, and a request from the court decreeing the adoption, the adoptive parents, or the adopted person if s/he is 18 years or older.

Adoption from Foster Care in Oregon

Are adoption subsidies available? When do they start and how long do they last? Yes, adoption subsidies are available for a special needs child as defined by one of the following: 8 years or older, member of a minority group, member of a sibling group of 2 or more children being placed together with one sibling 6 years or older, member of a sibling group of 3 or more children being placed together, has or is at risk for developing a medical, physical, mental, or emotional condition that is professionally diagnosed, has recorded history of abuse or neglect, has strong emotional ties to foster placement. Starts upon adoption placement, but assistance agreement must be complete before adoption finalization.

Where can I learn more about the process of adopting a child from foster care in Oregon? http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/children/adoption

Oregon Adoption Unit

Program Manager: Kathryn L. Prouty

500 Summer Street NE, E-71
Human Services Building, Adoption Unit, 2nd Floor
Salem, Oregon 97310-1068
Phone: (503) 947-5358
Fax: (503) 945-6633
[email protected]
http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/children/adoption/

 

DISCLAIMER: The state laws and policies outlined above are offered to readers only for general information and do not constitute legal advice. Furthermore, the state laws were accurate at the time of compilation, but Adoptive Families cannot guarantee that there have been no subsequent changes or revisions to the laws. Please do not rely on the information above without first consulting an adoption attorney licensed in your state. Updated in November 2014.

Authors


Copyright © 1999-2017 Adoptive Families Magazine®. All rights reserved. For personal use only. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited.

More articles like this

Newsletter

Given email address is already subscribed, thank you!
Oops. Something went wrong. Please try again later.
Please provide a valid email address.
Thank you, your sign-up request was successful! Please check your e-mail inbox.
Please complete the CAPTCHA.
Please fill in the required fields.
Top