Each state maintains its own adoption policies, so the process can vary considerably for families in different states. As an Alaska resident, you’ll want to work with an adoption agency or adoption attorney who is very familiar with Alaska adoption laws and policies. Below, you’ll find adoption agencies and adoption lawyers offering services to Alaska families. Scroll past the listings to learn all about the legal guidelines for families adopting in Alaska, whether you’re adopting a newborn through domestic adoption, an infant or older child from U.S. foster care adoption, or a child through international adoption.
Alaska Adoption Laws and Statutes
Who Can Adopt in Alaska?
A child may be adopted by single individuals or jointly by married couples.
Can LGBT families adopt? Yes, same-sex couples can petition for joint adoption.
Alaska Domestic Adoption Laws
Can adoptive parents advertise for birth parents? Not addressed in state statutes.
Can out-of-state residents finalize an adoption? Yes.
Can adopting parents use an adoption facilitator or another paid intermediary? Not addressed in state statutes.
What birth parent expenses may be paid, and in what time period? Living, medical, and other services related to the adoption.
Is there a putative father registry? No.
When can consent to adoption be granted? Any time after birth.
When does consent become irrevocable? If consent is revoked, is return to birth parent automatic? 10 days after consent, or birth of the child, whichever is later, unless court finds revoking consent is in child’s best interest. Return automatic.
Are post-adoption contact agreements legally enforceable? Yes, birthparents and adoptive parents may establish a post-adoption contact agreement.
Alaska International Adoption Laws
Is a foreign adoption decree automatically recognized by the state? Yes, a decree of court by any court within or outside the U.S. is recognized by Alaska as long as the adoption decree is issued under due process of law.
Can parents readopt in this state? Is it mandatory? Not addressed in state statutes.
When will a U.S. birth certificate be issued? The State Registrar will issue a U.S. birth certificate after receiving an adoption report and information identifying the original birth certificate (if there is no original birth certificate, court findings as to the probable DOB and place of birth are necessary).
Adoption from Foster Care in Alaska
Are adoption subsidies available? When do they start and how long do they last? Yes, adoption subsidies are available for a special needs child, who is defined as having at least one of the following: 8 years or older, racial and ethnic factors, member of a sibling group of 2 or more, has or is at high-risk of developing physical, mental, or emotional disabilities. Subsidies begin at adoption placement.
Where can I learn more about the process of adopting a child from foster care in Alaska? http://www.acrf.org/steps-for-adoption.php
Access to Adoption Records in Alaska
Who may access non-identifying information?
- Adoptees age 18 or older.
- Adoptive parents.
- Birth parents.
Who may access identifying information? Birth parents upon request if the adoptee is 18 or older and has requested in writing that the information be disclosed.
Can adoptees obtain their original birth certificates? Yes, adoptees aged 18 or older may request an uncertified copy of the original birth certificate.
Alaska Adoption Unit
Program Manager: KariLee PietzPO Box 110630
130 Seward Street, Room 406
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0630
Phone: (907) 465-2145
Fax: (907) 465-3656
E-mail: [email protected]